Review: Good As Gone by Amy Gentry

Goodreads/Amazon
Release date: July 26, 2016

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 

Genre: Mystery/Psychological Thriller

Goodreads blurb:

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic—but Anna, Julie’s mother, has whispers of doubts. She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.

 

Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages. 

Review: 

By this point, I think most of us are sick of every new thriller being compared to Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. It drives me crazy, but I ignored it this time and decided to take a chance anyway. Though I wouldn’t say that I loved this book quite as much as the other two, I’m pleased to say that it does make sense to place them in the same category.

Anna has been living her worst nightmare for eight long years. When her missing daughter, Julie shows up on her doorstep she is overcome with emotions. Of course she’s thrilled, but she can’t help but have doubts. Is her family’s nightmare finally over? Or is it just beginning?

I totally found myself relating to Anna as I do to almost any mother in a novel who loses a child. I don’t even want to think about something happening to one of my children and I sympathize so deeply with these types of characters. Julie’s sister, Jane was also easy to identify with. At just ten years old, she was the only witness on the night Julie disappeared. A terror stricken child is clearly not reliable and the events of that fateful night are shadowed and fuzzy at best.

I was reminded of The Passenger by Lisa Lutz while reading this and I really liked that book. They share a few similarities that I’m hesitant to discuss as both books have secrets and twists that shouldn’t be revealed. Both are addicting, fast paced and keep the reader guessing with the unique way the story is told. 

This was a lightning fast read for me as it’s just shy of 275 pages yet I feel like a little more could have been added, especially at the end. After all answers are revealed, I felt like a bit more development in regards to the backstory would’ve been useful. Questions are answered, I just wanted more details. 

Overall rating: 4/5

7 thoughts on “Review: Good As Gone by Amy Gentry

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s