Review: The Forgotten Woman by Angela Marsons 

Goodreads/Amazon/Author Website
Release date: July 11, 2016

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Women’s Fiction 

Goodreads blurb: 


Two ordinary women. Two damaged lives. One friendship that would save them both

Kit Mason has lived a life of unimaginable pain. An ex-prostitute, she has fled the clutches of an abusive pimp and now finds herself living hand to mouth in a new city, without anyone to help her. 


Frances Thornton seems to be living the perfect life. A lawyer from a privileged background, her perfect façade hides the painful secrets that still haunt her. 


Brought together by their attempts to conquer their addictions in an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting, the two women strike up an unlikely friendship. 


But can they find strength in each other – or will the demons of their past catch up with them? 


A compelling, moving and ultimately uplifting novel about overcoming the very worst life can throw at you and starting over. The perfect read for fans of Jodi Picoult and Amanda Prowse. 

Review:

This is my first time reading anything by Angela Marsons and I’m wondering what took me so long?! I relished every minute I spent reading this book and discovering the stories of Kit and Fran.

Kit is not only a forgotten woman at the start of this book, she is a broken woman. She was a prostitute at a young age and she has experienced brutal things at the unforgiving hands of men that utterly broke my heart. When she was describing her life on the streets I just wanted to scoop her up and hug her, love her and be kind to her. I admired her fiery spirit and sarcasm in the face of adversity, Kit is the definition of a fighting spirit.

Fran grew up in completely different circumstances than Kit did. Her family was successful and affluent and she never had to worry about a thing in terms of finances. Her home was lacking in love, however, a love and approval that Fran desperately craved. Despite their obvious differences, the two both struggled with the same demons; an addiction to alcohol.

After an initial meeting, the two women do not hit it off. Despite their rough start, the two strike up an unlikely friendship. I was so emotionally attached to both women in different ways, but I was rooting for them equally. Watching them both grow and find themselves, both separately and together with their burgeoning relationship was truly beautiful.

One thing I particularly liked about this book was that the ending wasn’t tied together all perfectly with a pretty bow. It did tie up several loose ends, enough to where I won’t be annoyed and bothered by unanswered questions, but leaving things imperfect was appreciated by me as this book was all about the imperfect aspects of life.

Overall rating: 4/5

Thanks to Bookouture for my copy in exchange for an honest review.

7 thoughts on “Review: The Forgotten Woman by Angela Marsons 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s