Review: The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert @aereichert


Goodreads|Amazon|Author Website
Release date: May 16, 2017

Publisher: Gallery Books

Genre: Women’s Fiction 

Blurb: 

Fall in love with The Simplicity of Cider, the charming new novel about a prickly but gifted cider-maker whose quiet life is interrupted by the arrival of a handsome man and his young son at her family’s careworn orchard by the author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and Luck, Love & Lemon Pie.


Focused and unassuming fifth generation cider-maker Sanna Lund has one desire: to live a simple, quiet life on her family’s apple orchard in Door County, Wisconsin. Although her business is struggling, Sanna remains fiercely devoted to the orchard, despite her brother’s attempts to convince their aging father to sell the land.


Single dad Isaac Banks has spent years trying to shield his son Sebastian from his troubled mother. Fleeing heartbreak at home, Isaac packed up their lives and the two headed out on an adventure, driving across the country. Chance—or fate—led them straight to Sanna’s orchard.


Isaac’s helping hands are much appreciated at the apple farm, even more when Sanna’s father is injured in an accident. As Sanna’s formerly simple life becomes increasingly complicated, she finds solace in unexpected places—friendship with young Sebastian and something more deliciously complex with Isaac—until an outside threat infiltrates the farm.


From the warm and funny Amy E. Reichert, The Simplicity of Cider is a charming love story with a touch of magic, perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Gayle Forman.

Review: 

I have to start by giving credit to that cover, it’s gorgeous and something about it speaks to my soul! I also just realized how much I’m adoring books from the imprint of Gallery Books, they publish strong, fresh, unique novels and I’ve especially loved their women’s fiction. If you haven’t checked them out yet I can highly recommend this book and I haven’t read any books by them that I haven’t really enjoyed.

This was my first Reichert book, but it most certainly will not be my last! She combined a modern day, swoon worthy romance with an incredible setting and she totally captured my heart with her lovely writing style. Sanna has a simple, quiet life but she’s content. Her whole life revolves around her families orchard and she especially enjoys making cider. Issac and Bass show up at the farm looking for a place to spend the summer and she’s not exactly pleased when her father hires them. 

I loved Sanna’s cantankerous personality because I just knew underneath her prickly exterior there was a heart of gold. Isaac was hot AND an amazing father, this is where I swoon. His son, Bass is one of those kids that wiggle their way into your life whether you want them to or not and the blossoming relationship between him and Sanna was one of my favorite things about this book.

Besides the lovely romance you have an idyllic setting, it was so enchanting. Learning about cider making was surprisingly fascinating and had me wanting to book a trip to an orchard in the fall. There was also just a hint of magic to the plot that added something truly special, who doesn’t like a little magic in their everyday life? I recommend this one to anyone wanting to make an escape from reality and enter a charming, quaint new place.

Overall rating: 4/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy. 

14 thoughts on “Review: The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert @aereichert

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s