Blog Tour: A Daughter’s Courage by Renita Silva @RenitaDSilva


Goodreads|Amazon US|Amazon UK
Release date: May 31, 2017

Publisher: Bookouture 

Genre: Historical Fiction 

Blurb: 

How much would you sacrifice to save your family?



1929. When a passionate love affair threatens to leave Lucy in disgrace, she chooses a respectable marriage over a life of shame. With her husband, coffee plantation owner James, she travels to her new home in India, leaving her troubled past behind her. 


Everything in India is new to Lucy, from the jewel-coloured fabrics to the exotic spices. When her path crosses that of Gowri, a young woman who tends the temple on the plantation’s edge, Lucy is curious to find out more about her, and the events that lead her to live in isolation from her family… 


Now. With her career in shatters and her heart broken by the man she thought was her future, Kayva flees from bustling Mumbai to her hometown. A crumbling temple has been discovered in a village nearby, and with it letters detailing its tragic history – desperate pleas from a young woman called Gowri. 


As Kavya learns of Gowri and Lucy’s painful story, she begins to understand the terrible sacrifices that were made and the decision the two women took that changed their lives forever. Can the secrets of the past help Kavya to rebuild her life? 


A breath-taking journey through the rolling hills of India, deep into the secrets hidden within a family. For fans of Santa Montefiore, Dinah Jefferies and Victoria Hislop.

I’m so pleased to be hosting a stop on the blog tour for A Daughter’s Courage today! 


Review: 

This book used the type of narrative that I really enjoy, there were several different viewpoints, that at first glance were only linked tenuously, I kept wondering how two women from the 1920’s and two other women from present day would all fit together?! D’Silva weaved these threads together in a breathtaking manner and crafted four amazing characters that I couldn’t help but root for. 

The writing style was gorgeous and lyrical, D’Silva paints such a stunning picture using vivid, rich imagery. I could clearly envision the landscape of India; the bright colors, the scent of exotic spices, the women swathed in bold saris, it was a very immersive read. 

Along with a superbly crafted setting, the characterization was outstanding as well. The four women depicted had distinct issues and troubles, but they were all strong, courageous and inspiring. I especially felt a connection to Gowri, she was a young teenager who was a devadasi, which means she had to dedicate her entire life to worshiping and servicing a temple and goddess statue called Yellamma. This was so interesting to learn about the traditions and cultural customs practiced in India back in the 20’s. It was also heartbreaking and disturbing reading her story of sacrifice, but her resilience was amazing. 

I was mesmerized by this book and I experienced a wide variety of emotions from deep sadness and compassion to gentle smiles through my tears. It was really touching and poignant, just a really beautifully told story that left an impact on me. This was my first D’Silva book but it most definitely will not be my last. 

Overall rating: 5/5

Thanks to Bookouture for my review copy. 

About the Author: 


Renita grew up in a picturesque coastal village in the South of India, the oldest of three children. Her father got her first story books when she was six and she fell in love with the world of stories. Even now she prefers that world, by far, to this.

Website|Facebook|Twitter

6 thoughts on “Blog Tour: A Daughter’s Courage by Renita Silva @RenitaDSilva

  1. renitadsilva says:

    Wow! Thank you SO much for this beautiful review and for hosting A Daughter’s Courage on your wonderful blog! SO thrilled you enjoyed A Daughter’s Courage. Hope you have a wonderful day! This has made mine 🙂 XXX

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s