Blog Tour: Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice Cream by Sue Watson @suewatsonwriter @bookouture


Goodreads|Amazon US|Amazon UK
Release date: June 27, 2017

Publisher: Bookouture 

Genre: Romantic Comedy/Chick Lit

Blurb: 

Dani’s on a mission to get her life back on track by the end of the Summer. Running, rowing, aerobics and more, but perhaps all she needs are sweet treats and a second chance? 


Twenty years ago, Dani fled Appledore with a broken-heart and a suitcase full of shattered dreams. Only now is she brave enough to put her past behind her and return for a summer selling homemade ice-cream and getting fit by doing sit-ups by the sea. 


But the new-look cafe is filled with old memories of Jude, her teenage sweetheart-turned-sour. She thinks of him every time she swirls warm sauce onto a “chocolate-bockaglory” and even with the help of Chris, her gorgeous personal trainer, the urge to break her diet is everywhere she turns. 


When Jude makes an appearance at the cafe on the eve of Dani’s birthday party, history threatens to repeat itself. Is Dani strong enough to say no? And is the love she’s been longing for much closer than she thinks? 


A truly delicious, laugh out loud beach read that’s guaranteed to melt your heart. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Jenny Colgan and Debbie Johnson.

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice Cream


Review: 

This is the second book in a series, I loved Ella’s Ice Cream Summer and was really excited I didn’t have to wait very long for the second book. This one was just as wickedly funny as the first and had just as much heart and warmth, I LOVED it! 

Dani was such a fun heroine, she’s sassy and has a super funny self deprecating sense of humor and she’s always struggled with her weight. She’s so relatable, what woman hasn’t had the same issues with weight and body image? I just adored Dani and her attitude was amazing, when she finally decides to take getting into shape seriously, she does it wholeheartedly and she maintained a positive attitude throughout, she was truly inspirational. 

The humor is one of my favorite parts of any Sue Watson book, so I have to highlight some of the funniest moments. Every chapter is not only hilariously titled, they begin with a paragraph or so detailing one of Dani’s many failed diets. She’s tried some crazy ones in the past and they had me giggling like a maniac. Checking in with Ella and the gang was another treat and that meant seeing Sue again! Her malapropisms are also back and one of my favorites was when she asked if someone wanted ordinary coffee or decapitated. Oh gosh it has me cracking up again!!

This is the ideal series for summer, you have an idyllic location in Appledore along with the even sweeter setting of the ice cream shop, I dare you to read this without eating some! It’s impossible I think. On top of all that, you have a side of romance as Dani’s ex, Jude is back in town and her new personal trainer is hunky and charming. What more could you want?! For me, absolutely nothing this was a wonderful, feel good, funny read with a fantastic heroine. And ice cream. Enough said. 

Overall rating: 5/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy. 

About the Author: 


Sue Watson was a journalist on women’s magazines and national newspapers before leaving it all behind for a career in TV. As a producer with the BBC she worked on garden makeovers, kitchen takeovers and daytime sofas – all the time making copious notes so that one day she might escape to the country and turn it all into a book.

After much deliberation and copious consumption of cake, Sue eventually left her life in TV to write. After a very successful debut novel, Fat Girls and Fairy Cakes Sue signed with Bookouture.

Website|Facebook|Twitter

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice Cream by Sue Watson @suewatsonwriter @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s