Blog Tour: The Stolen Girls by Patricia Gibney @trisha460 @bookouture


Goodreads|Amazon US|Amazon UK
Release date: July 6, 2017

Publisher: Bookouture 

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Blurb: 

The young woman standing on Lottie’s step was a stranger. She was clutching the hand of a young boy. ‘Help me,’ she said to Lottie. ‘Please help me.’ 


One Monday morning, the body of a young pregnant woman is found. The same day, a mother and her son visit the house of Detective Lottie Parker, begging for help to find a lost friend. 


Could this be the same girl? 


When a second victim is discovered by the same man, with the murder bearing all the same hallmarks as the first, Lottie needs to work fast to discover how else the two were linked. Then two more girls go missing.


Detective Lottie Parker is a woman on the edge, haunted by her tragic past and struggling to keep her family together through difficult times. Can she fight her own demons and catch the killer before he claims another victim? 


The Stolen Girls is a gripping and page-turning thriller that will leave you breathless. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Karin Slaughter and Robert Dugoni.

I’m so excited to be hosting a stop on the blog tour for The Stolen Girls!


Review: 

I was totally blown away by Gibney’s debut,  The Missing Ones and really excited that it was the start of a new series featuring Lottie Parker. I’ve been dying to read this book since I finished the first and I’m so glad to be able to tell you that book two is just as amazing as the first one!

There is a lot going on here, plenty of cases running simultaneously and tons to keep Lottie on her toes. First, the body of a young pregnant girl is found and it shakes her to her core. Then, a young foreign girl and her son show up at Lottie’s door asking for help. On top of all of that, a young local girl vanishes and she’s a friend of Lottie’s daughter, Chloe. So plenty of different plot threads and Lottie is under an intense amount of pressure both at work and at home. If you’ve read the first book, you’ll know exactly what I mean. 

This is told mainly is present day and follows Lottie and Boyd as they try and untangle a dark web with not much to go on. There are also brief chapters from an unknown child, (then eventually a man) living in Kosovo in the nineties and these were really heartbreaking. I love that this series is a lot more dense than it’s counterparts, it really allows the author to develop the lead characters in a deep manner. Lottie is still a hotheaded mess and I’m still waiting to see what happens between her and Boyd, but their chemistry is great. They both wind up having a personal connection to the cases and the pressure reaches an all time high. 

This is action packed and very dark, gritty and disturbing. There are several scenes with violence and rape, some horrifying subject matter that really gets under your skin. Once again, there are several suspects to choose from so it’s downright impossible to guess whodunnit before the author reveals all. This was an excellent addition to what’s quickly becoming one of my favorite new series and I’ll be eagerly awaiting book 3!

Overall rating: 4/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy. 

About the Author: 


Patricia yearned to be a writer after reading Enid Blyton and Carolyn Keene and even wanted to be Nancy Drew when grew up. She has now grown up (she thinks) but the closest she’s come to Nancy Drew is writing crime!
In 2009, after her husband died, she retired from my job and started writing seriously. Fascinated by people and their quirky characteristics, she always carries a notebook to scribble down observations.
Patricia also loves to paint in watercolour and live in the Irish midlands with her children. 

Website|Facebook|Twitter

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Stolen Girls by Patricia Gibney @trisha460 @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s