Review: The Cutaway by @christina_kovac @AtriaMysteryBus


Goodreads|Amazon|Author Website
Release date: March 21, 2017

Publisher: Atria Books

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Blurb: 

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.


When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.


Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.

Review: 

I love reading a mystery from a new perspective, it’s so refreshing! This is all about the world of broadcast journalism and though veteran producer Virginia has covered tons of missing persons cases before, something about the disappearance of Evelyn Carney pulls her in. As she dives deeper into the story, she encounters many roadblocks and becomes entangled in the high power world of D. C. politics and police corruption. 

I really like Virginia as a protagonist, she’s a strong, intelligent and empowered woman and though you don’t find out very much about who she is and what drives her until about the halfway point of the book, what is shared was enough to make me a fan. I had no idea what really goes into making a major news program but I found the behind the scenes look totally fascinating. This is a seriously cutthroat business and the atmosphere of the news room was intense. Kovac’s knowledge of journalism is heavily apparent, there was such an authenticity to the plot. 

This was a slow burning mystery, not as many thrills as I was expecting, though it did have it’s moments towards the end. I think this is partly because you’re slogging along with Virginia as she does investigative work, but I found it to be pretty interesting. There’s only a handful of suspects so some may be able to figure out who the culprit is, but I didn’t have things totally nailed down myself. 

I really enjoyed this unique viewpoint and approach and found myself easily caught up in this hard hitting, competitive environment. There was just a hint of romance that added to the story instead of detracting from it, along with political intrigue and corrupt cops, totally juicy. If you’ve ever wanted a peek at what really happens before the cameras roll in a newsroom, check this out. Hint; it’s not as glamorous as you think. 

Overall rating: 4/5

Thanks to Atria Mystery Bus for my review copy. 

9 thoughts on “Review: The Cutaway by @christina_kovac @AtriaMysteryBus

  1. Annie says:

    I love a journalist’s point of view 😀 I haven’t read many in books but I always enjoy those stories on movies! Great review, I love the cover of this one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s