Review: The Summer of Secrets by Tilly Tennant @TillyTenWriter @bookouture #BlogBlitz

Goodreads|Amazon

Release date: March 14, 2018

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Romance

Blurb:

Can new love grow when you dig up old secrets?

Recently engaged, Harper Woods wakes up every morning on Silver Hill Farm feeling like the luckiest woman in the world. She has escaped her troubled past, outside the rolling yellow cornfields go on for miles and just downstairs are the gorgeous tea rooms she’s always dreamed of owning.

But Harper is about to discover something that will change her luck forever. For better or worse? She has no idea. Not until an expert can identify whether the jewellery she found hidden in the farm’s foundations is priceless, or utterly worthless…

As news of the discovery spreads through the village, there are others who’d like to lay their claim to the fortune. In particular, Will Frampton, handsome recluse and Lord of Silver Hill House, the crumbling stately home on the other side of the hill in desperate need of renovation.

It seems everyone wants a piece of the sparkling prize hidden under the Silver Hill tea rooms. But as relationships are tested and tea cakes begin to fly, will anyone catch the romance blossoming in the most unexpected of places?

Love and laughter are the biggest reward of them all in this utterly heart-warming romance, perfect for fans of Jane Linfoot, Debbie Johnson and Jenny Colgan.

I’m so pleased to be one of the stops on the blog blitz for The Summer of Secrets today!

Review:

Diving into a new Tilly Tennant novel is akin to eating a delicious meal filled with all of my go to comfort foods and The Summer of Secrets did not disappoint! Even though I wasn’t able to take a trip anywhere fun for spring break this year this gem of a book swept me away to a quaint, charming little village which was the next best thing to a real vacation.

Tennant has a real knack for crafting lovable characters that I just can’t get enough of. Harper runs a farm with her best friend Pip and their friendship was so sweet and genuine, I just adored them both. As for the romance there was plenty going on here as Harper is engaged to Shay and there are several other budding relationships but to say more would just spoil it. The portrayal of how these romances unfolds is always so practical and just rings true, I so appreciate that! Tennant always alludes to sex in a classy, subtle way and I really think that makes it even sexier than if she went into detail about what was happening with her characters in the bedroom.

What do I look for in a romance novel? Interesting characters and an intriguing plot to start and this one definitely has that, there’s a light mystery that keep me engaged and plenty of lovely characters to root for. I also want a great setting and the village was adorable and so beautifully described. Finally, I want a bit of humor and a lot of heart and I got more than enough of both here, I always finish her books with a smile on my face and a warm and fuzzy feeling inside. So if you’re a fan of contemporary romance and looking for a vacation read check this one out!

The Summer of Secrets in three words: Sweet, Delightful and Heartfelt.

Overall rating: 4/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

About the Author:

Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop girl, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing. She wrote a novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and has not stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor, and considers herself very lucky that this enables her to read many wonderful books before the rest of the world gets them.

Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was her debut novel; published in 2014 it was an Amazon bestseller in both the UK and Australia. In 2016 she signed to the hugely successful Bookouture and is currently working on her next Tilly Tennant novel. She also writes as Sharon Sant, where she explores the darker side of life, and Poppy Galbraith, where things get a little crazier.

 

Author Social Media Links

 

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/TillyTennant/

TWITTER:https://twitter.com/TillyTenWriter

WEBSITE:www.tillytennant.com

4 thoughts on “Review: The Summer of Secrets by Tilly Tennant @TillyTenWriter @bookouture #BlogBlitz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s