Review: The Cafe at Seashell Cove by Karen Clarke @Karenclarke123 @bookouture #BlogTour

Goodreads|Amazon

Release date: March 15, 2018

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Blurb:

Welcome to the Café at Seashell Cove, where you’ll find irresistible home-baked cakes, smiling friendly faces – and maybe even a second chance at love…

When Cassie Maitland needs a holiday from her glamorous but stressful job in event management, she escapes home to gorgeous Seashell Cove, where her family’s cosy café sits perched on the cliffs above sparkling waves and golden sand.

But a lot has changed while Cassie’s been away: her parents have transformed their tired café into a welcoming haven, her friends Meg and Tilly have whole new lives, and old flame Danny’s twinkling eyes and winning smile make Cassie feel even more flustered than they used to.

Keen to throw herself back into local life, Cassie starts to run themed events – including a not entirely successful cat-café day, complete with dozens of felines. Luckily Danny is always around to lend a helping hand, and Cassie soon begins to wonder if her life in London was really all she made it out to be…

Could a new start in Seashell Cove be exactly what Cassie needs?

A heart-warming and hilarious read about friendship, belonging and seaside living. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Holly Martin and Jenny Oliver.

I’m delighted to be one of the stops on the blog tour for The Cafe at Seashell Cove today!

Review:

This book opens with Cassie interrupting her parents in an…AHEM intimate moment and I about fell out of my chair laughing, I just knew I was in for a good time and was I ever right! It was hysterical and really set the tone for how fun this story was. Clarke is one of my favorite authors to turn to when I need a pick me up, she achieves that perfect balance between humor and romance that works so well for me.

Cassie returns home sort of down on her luck, she’s been fired from her London job and her romantic life is pretty stagnant. Instead of the typical plot where the heroine goes home to lick her wounds and get comfort from family, Cassie actually keeps things a secret from then and pretends she left her job willingly and is super happy about it. I love the originality of Clarke’s novels, there’s never anything cookie cutter about them, but she does consistently create lovable and quirky characters that charm me. Cassie’s parents were my favorite they were sweet and doting and always embarrassed Cassie with their affection for each other.

This is set in another idyllic location making it a perfect vacation read, plenty of fun loving moments, a dash of romance and so many laughs my sides were sore after reading! I’m hopeful this is the start to a new series as there were so many characters that I would love to read about again.

The Cafe at Seashell Cove in three words: Charming, hilarious and Effortless.

Overall rating: 5/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

About the Author:

Karen Clarke writes romantic comedy novels. Her BEACHSIDE series is set in the fictional seaside town of Shipley and features recurring characters, but each book can be read as a standalone. She is currently working on a new, three-book series set in Devon- the first, The Café at Seashell Cove is out March 15th 2018.

Karen has also written three romcoms with a paranormal twist, all available to download

When she’s not working on her novels, Karen writes short stories for women’s magazines and has had over three hundred published globally. Some of them can be read in her short story collection ‘BEHIND CLOSED DOORS…and other Tales with a Twist’

Karen lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children.

 

 

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/karen.clarke.5682

Twitter:     https://twitter.com/karenclarke123

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

Website: http://writewritingwritten.blogspot.co.uk/

4 thoughts on “Review: The Cafe at Seashell Cove by Karen Clarke @Karenclarke123 @bookouture #BlogTour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s