Review: The Not So Perfect Mother by Kerry Fisher @KerryFSwayne @bookouture

Goodreads|Amazon

Release date: June 6, 2018

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Blurb:

From Amazon chart bestseller Kerry Fisher comes a hilarious and straight-talking read for anyone who has ever despaired at the politics of the school playground…

Maia is a cleaner for ladies who lunch. With mops and buckets in tow, she spends her days dashing from house to house clearing up after them, as they rush from one exhausting pilates class to the next.

But an unusual inheritance changes the lives of Maia and her children, as they join the highly exclusive world of Stirling Hall School – a place where no child can survive without organic apricots and no woman goes a week without a manicure.

As Maia and her children try to settle into their new life, Maia is gradually drawn to the one man who can help her family fit in: Mr. Peters, a teacher at Stirling Hall School. But is his interest in her purely professional? And will it win her any favors at the school gate?

The Not So Perfect Mother is a laugh-out-loud-funny and romantic Cinderella story with a twist. Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin, Jennifer Weiner and Sophie Kinsella.

Review:

Oh how I adored this book, it was laugh out loud funny but also had some poignant, emotional moments as well, it really had a little something for everyone and Maia was the perfect heroine for this delightful little read.

We’ve all been down on our luck at some point I imagine, but Maia is having a really difficult time and there’s no end in sight. When one of the women she cleans for passes away and offers her children a scholarship to a posh school that is miles away (social class wise at least) she takes it despite her reservations. Maia doesn’t fit it with the mother’s at Stirling Hall, and she doesn’t actually want to, these women are mostly awful, but she grits her teeth and smiles because she wants what’s best for her kids. That’s one of the qualities I admired about her, she is a fantastic mother who does her best by her children despite getting kicked in the teeth repeatedly. I really liked her character and even though I was shaking my head at some of her decisions, Fisher did create a believable person who makes mistakes and bad choices just like the rest of us.

I said before this was funny but I have to reiterate it again, there were some seriously hilarious scenes that had me rolling. This was a feel good read with heart and soul and had a wonderful ending with some surprises I didn’t predict.

The Not So Perfect Mother in three words: Funny, Relatable and Entertaining.

Overall rating: 4/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

About the Author:

Born in Peterborough, UK, Kerry Fisher studied French and Italian at Bath University, followed by several years working as an English teacher in Corsica and Spain before topping the dizzying heights of holiday rep and grape picker in Tuscany. She eventually succumbed to ‘getting a proper job’ and returned to England to study Periodical Journalism at City University. After two years working at Essentials magazine in London, love carried her off to the wilds of the West Pennine moors near Bolton. She now lives in Surrey with her husband (of whisking off to Bolton fame) and two teenagers. She has a very naughty lab/schnauzer called Poppy, which leads to many mortifying moments of whistling and waving pieces of chicken while the dog practises her ‘talk to the tail’.

Kerry spent half her life talking about writing a novel, then several years at Candis magazine reviewing other people’s but it wasn’t until she took some online courses with the UCLA that the dream started to morph into reality when her debut, The School Gate Survival Guide, was picked up by HarperCollins.

https://www.facebook.com/kerryfisherauthor/

https://twitter.com/KerryFSwayne

6 thoughts on “Review: The Not So Perfect Mother by Kerry Fisher @KerryFSwayne @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s