Audiobook Review: Everything is Perfect by Kate Nason

Goodreads

Release date: August 5, 2021

Publisher: Audible Originals

Genre: Memoir

Synopsis:

Seven years into her second marriage, Kate Nason discovered her husband was cheating on her. Then, the unimaginable happened. Kate woke to the news that one of her husband’s “other women” was involved with an American president. It was January of 1998. The press surrounded her home, clamoring for details and transformed Kate’s private heartbreak into public humiliation.

Nason’s memoir uncovers the little-known side of a well-known story, unveiling a cautionary tale about the ways we deceive ourselves when we allow ourselves to be deceived by those we love. Everything Is Perfect is an intimate reveal of infidelity, gaslighting, and the silent wife at the press conference. Nason explores the roles women inhabit throughout their lives, how they carry trauma, and the lengths they’ll go to protect their children and save themselves. It’s a fierce and often funny self-reckoning, a meditation on learning to trust one’s intuition, and a case study of how one woman undid a bad “I do.”

In the tradition of Lisa Brennan Jobs’s Small Fry or Chanel Miller’s Know My Name, Everything is Perfect is a beautifully written, deeply personal, unsparing self-portrait that goes deeper than the familiar news story within.

Review:

If I’m going to pick up a memoir I always choose the audio version, and it’s always a bonus for me if the author narrates the book themselves. There’s something so intimate about hearing someone’s story in both their own words and their own voice that just never fails to reel me in. The author did a great job with her narration here, I found her voice easy to listen to and her emotions were portrayed in a raw way. Her story is powerful and engaging, she really nailed sharing the experience of being married to someone who is a pro gaslighter and what an emotional toll it took on her and her family. I was very interested in her life, she had quite the story to tell as she was betrayed in the worst way imaginable. This isn’t a pity party woe is me tale but rather a story of strength and resilience that was inspiring. One small thing I didn’t quite understand was why she used pseudonyms, everyone knows who the real players are so that seemed silly but overall a great listen.

Overall rating: 4/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

One thought on “Audiobook Review: Everything is Perfect by Kate Nason

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s