Six Graves by Angela Marsons @writeangie @bookouture

Goodreads

Release date: May 12, 2022

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Synopsis:

It’s a typical teenage bedroom with posters covering the walls and clothes littering the floor. But the girl lying on her bed, wearing a delicate chain around her neck, is lifeless. A circle of red stains her white vest top and Kim feels a sharp stab of sadness. How had the girl’s mother looked down at her sleeping child and pulled the trigger?

When Detective Kim Stone rushes to the scene of a house fire, she’s shocked to discover it’s claimed the lives of two teenage children and their parents. But this tragedy is not quite as it seems. Each body is marked by a gunshot wound and the mother, Helen Daynes, is holding the gun.

The case sparks painful childhood memories for Kim who suffered at the hands of her own abusive mother. As she begins to untangle the dark web of secrets within the Daynes family, Kim and her team discover Helen had a history of clinical depression. But could it have driven her to murder her loved ones?

Then Kim uncovers a tiny, vital clue in Helen’s bedroom that throws the investigation wide open. Could someone else have killed the Daynes family?

With the case only just underway, a deadly threat is made to Kim’s own life. Years ago, she rescued two little girls from the clutches of a dangerous psychopath who has just escaped prison and is coming for her.

A witness protection officer glued to her side, Kim must bite back her fear, as she keeps digging into the Daynes’s background and soon hits upon a shocking secret from Helen’s past that could crack the case. With the remaining family members in danger, Kim is under pressure like never before.

The monster circling Kim raises the stakes when he threatens the life of another innocent victim. He’s leading Kim straight to him. Forced to go against direct instructions from her superiors, will that one fateful decision cost her more than her job?

An absolutely nail-bitingly tense page-turner that will have you gasping out loud. You won’t come up for air until you’ve reached the twisty, breathtaking ending. Fans of Karin Slaughter, Mark Billingham and Robert Dugoni will love Six Graves.

Review:

Well, it only took sixteen books but the author managed to scare the hell out of me with a prologue alone. It was an emotional sort of terrified too, the kind that really messes with your head and the feeling never left me throughout the whole book so be prepared to have your emotions toyed with! Despite the way I felt tortured I can still say that this was an incredible read and I highly recommend it, just wanted to prepare you for some emotional upheaval.

I usually try and slow down my pace when I read a new book in this series, I like to savor it and really spend some time with the characters but this time I read this in record time over just a couple of sittings. Between that prologue and the fact that there are two cases to draw you in I really couldn’t stop until it was over. Somehow, sixteen books in you are still learning more about Kim, her past is at the forefront of her mind as she works to solve a current case and there were additional layers pulled back that gave insight into who she is. Per usual the story is dark and dangerous but this is balanced out by the humor and camaraderie between Kim and the team where one minute you’re horrified by a new piece of evidence they’ve uncovered or the results of an autopsy reveal a new clue and then the next you’re laughing at something Bryant said to Kim. As much as the characters in this series need a break after what the author has put them through I’m already eagerly anticipating the next book and just know that once again I’ll have a new one to add to my favorites shelf alongside this one!

Overall rating: 5/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s