Review of Friends Like Us by Sian O’Gorman

Goodreads/Amazon
Genre: Chick Lit, Women’s Fiction

Release date: July 1, 2016

Publisher: Aria

Goodreads blurb:

Is it ever too late to take charge and live your life on your terms?
Life for school friends, Melissa, Steph and Eilis, hasn’t quite worked out the way they once imagined it might.
Melissa may be professionally successful but inside she’s a mess of insecurities.

Steph is lonely and lost, balancing the fragile threads of family life and walking on eggshells around her philandering husband and angry teenage daughter.
Finally, Eilis, a hardworking A&E doctor, utterly exhausted by the daily pressures of work and going through the motions with her long-term partner Rob.
It’s crunch time for all the friends…
A light-hearted and emotional novel about family, friendship and coming to terms with your past. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Amanda Prowse. 

Review:

I love a good chick lit novel. Emily Giffin, Lauren Weisberger, Mary Kay Andrews, etc. When I saw this on Netgalley I was instantly drawn to it because of the lighthearted description and lovely cover. Superficial, I know. Turned out to be fitting as this book was a tad superficial. I just wanted to be drawn in a little bit more. I didn’t feel a true connection with the characters.

Three friends from high school reunite to plan their twentieth high school reunion. Melissa, Steph and Eilis meet several times to plan things but that is not actually relevant to the plot. Instead the book focuses on the unraveling of the three women’s lives. All of them are facing heavy issues in their lives and they lean on each other for support. Divorce, infidelity, angsty teenagers, work woes, death and more all try and drag the girls down. 

Told alternately from Melissa, Steph and Eilis point of view works nicely. You get an intimate glimpse into all their lives and the book flows well. Even though they are dealing with some heavy subject matter, it still has an overall lighthearted tone. There are many sweet moments between the girls and O’Gorman was able to capture the power of true friendship.

While it definitely had its good moments, it was slightly clichéd and predictable. All that said, I did like the book, I just didn’t love the book. It is a nice, easy summer read though. If you’re looking for a book that is breezy and fluffy this might be for you.

Overall rating: 3/5

Thanks to Netgalley and Aria for the eARC in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Review of Friends Like Us by Sian O’Gorman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s