Blog Tour: The Beachside Sweet Shop by Karen Clarke @karenclarke123 @bookouture


Goodreads|Amazon US|Amazon UK
Release date: March 2, 2017

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Blurb: 

Chocolate fudge, butterscotch and raspberry bonbons… treat yourself to some sugary treats, a big slice of friendship and a sprinkling of romance at The Beachside Sweet Shop.


When Marnie Appleton inherited a sweet shop from her grandfather she was determined to do his legacy proud. The shop has been a much-loved feature of the little seaside town of Shipley for years, but now Marnie needs to bring it up to date, and she’s recruited gorgeous new assistant Josh to help. 


Marnie gets busy redecorating the shop and choosing delicious new sweets to stock, but things are never that simple: new neighbour Isobel, a fame-hungry blogger, is on a crusade against sugar, and she’ll go to any lengths to secure bad publicity for Marnie’s shop. 


Marnie fights back with homemade sugar-free treats, but with her best friend Beth heavily pregnant, her grandmother Celia recovering from an operation, and her very recently ex-boyfriend Alex returning to Shipley with a new love, Marnie has a lot on her plate.


And then there’s Josh, with whom Marnie is struggling to keep her relationship strictly professional…Will both the sweet shop and love flourish? 


A deliciously heartwarming read about family, friends and handmade coconut ice. Perfect for fans of Cressida McLaughlin, Debbie Johnson, and Tilly Tennant.

Review: 

I’m so excited to be one of the stops on the blog tour for The Beachside Sweet Shop today! I’m sharing the day with Chelle’s Book Reviews so make sure you pop over there next. 


Isn’t this cover the most adorable thing you’ve ever seen?! It’s just lovely, and let me tell you the inside is even lovelier. I adored this book, it was an easy, breezy read with plenty of laugh out loud moments. Be forewarned though, if you have a sweet tooth this will make you send your husband out for some candy. Or so I hear…

Marnie was such a delight, she’s almost thirty and single having separated from her boyfriend a year ago when he moved to New York and she stayed home to take care of her grandma. Don’t actually call her a grandma though, she goes by Celia only and was she ever a riot! All of the characters in this one were a hoot, Marnie finds herself in hysterical situations quite often, and her best friend Beth is exactly the type of friend every girl wants. There’s also loads of other charming secondary characters but I have to make special mention of Josh, the new arrival to town who winds up working for Marnie. I don’t often develop a crush on a fictional character but this guy was absolutely swoon worthy, I may have fallen a little bit in love with him by the end. Every resident of Shipley brings something unique and appealing to the table and the town gossip, Doris Day made me howl with laughter as did newbie Isobel a yummy mummy and blogger. 

This book is special, a real breath of fresh air. The setting was quaint and charming, (it’s set in a seaside town in a candy shop, it doesn’t get more precious than that!) the writing was humorous and lighthearted, and the story itself was cute and endearing. It felt like I was on a mini vacation and one that I didn’t want to end. Luckily for me, the second book in the series is available next month! If you’re having a bad day and need a pick me up I promise that this one will make you laugh and leave you with a smile on your face. 

Overall rating: 5/5

Thanks to Bookouture for my review copy. 

About the Author: 


After giving up her job as a library assistant, Karen now writes full-time. She’s had over 300 stories published in women’s magazines in the UK and abroad, and has written three paranormal romantic comedies, published by Little, Brown/Corsair. When she’s not writing she reads avidly, walks dogs at her local rescue centre, and is eagerly awaiting the next season of The Walking Dead. She lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children.

Website|Facebook|Twitter

8 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Beachside Sweet Shop by Karen Clarke @karenclarke123 @bookouture

  1. Renee says:

    I like to have a feel good book ready to go for those days I need a step back from crime and murders so this seems like a good one to try. I would’ve totally passed this by if not for your review and praise!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s