Blog Tour: Guilty by Laura Elliot @bookouture @Elliot_Laura


Goodreads|Amazon US|Amazon UK
Release date: June 22, 2017

Publisher: Bookouture 

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Blurb: 

It begins with a phone call. It ends with a missing child. 


On a warm summer’s morning, thirteen-year-old school girl Constance Lawson is reported missing. 


A few days later, Constance’s uncle, Karl Lawson suddenly finds himself swept up in a media frenzy created by journalist Amanda Bowe implying that he is the prime suspect. 


Six years later … 


Karl’s life is in ruins. His marriage is over, his family destroyed. But the woman who took everything away from him is thriving. With a successful career, husband and a gorgeous baby boy, Amanda’s world is complete. Until the day she receives a phone call and in a heartbeat, she is plunged into every mother’s worst nightmare. 


An utterly compelling psychological thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen, Claire Douglas and Sarah Denzil’s Silent Child. 

I’m so pleased to welcome you to my stop on the blog tour for Guilty today! I also want to wish the author the happiest of publication days. 


Review: 

Guilty was a bit different than I had anticipated, it was divided into five separate parts and the first one was very frantic as it focused on the disappearance of a teenaged girl. Her case is resolved during this section, then part two details the aftermath. It mainly follows Karl, Constance’s uncle who was the prime suspect when she went missing and the media storm created by a local reporter named Amanda. Then parts three through five fast forward to years later and follow both families and explore how the case effected so many lives. 

Even though the beginning had the most rapid pacing I still found the book as a whole to be quite a page turner. I’m always intrigued by how the media’s influence can shift a criminal investigation and this played a heavy role here. Karl winds up losing everything dear to him and I couldn’t help but feel sorry for him. The rest of the characters were a pretty unlikable bunch, but  I was still so curious to see what would happen to them. I know that’s vague, but it’s for your own good! 

This was a book with a very complex plot and tons of unexpected moments and surprises. The power of revenge and righting perceived wrongs was another thing that grabbed my attention and held on tight and I really did love how things came together in the end. Elliot is a talented writer and she definitely had me under her spell, just be aware that this is not a nonstop, action packed thriller, rather it’s more moderately paced, but still extremely entertaining. 

Overall rating: 4/5

Thank to the publisher for my review copy. 

About the Author: 


Laura Elliot is an Irish novelist and lives in the coastal town of Malahide, Co. Dublin. She loves travelling. The beautiful South Island of New Zealand was the inspiration for her setting in The Prodigal Sister. The Burren in County Clare became the mysterious setting for Stolen Child and the Broadmeadow Estuary behind her home provides the background for The Betrayal. She has worked as a journalist and magazine editor. 

Website|Facebook|Twitter

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Guilty by Laura Elliot @bookouture @Elliot_Laura

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s