Review: The Lies Within by Jane Isaac @JaneIsaacAuthor @Legend_Press 


Goodreads|Amazon|Author Website
Release date: September 1, 2017

Publisher: Legend Press

Genre: Crime Fiction

Blurb:

Be under no illusions by her kind face and eloquent manner… This woman is guilty of murder.


Grace Bannister is distraught after her daughter’s body is found in a Leicestershire country lane. With her family falling apart and the investigation going nowhere, Grace’s only solace is the re-emergence of Faye, an old friend who seems to understand her loss.


DI Will Jackman delves into the case, until a family tragedy and a figure from his past threaten to derail him.


When the police discover another victim, the spotlight falls on Grace. Can Jackman find the killer, before she is convicted of a crime she didn’t commit?


A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 

Review:

This is the third book in a series but I jumped in here with no issues whatsoever. Isaac provided enough pertinent background information concerning Jackman’s personal life that I felt I had a firm grasp on what type of man he is. It seems he’s had a rough time as of late and my heart truly went out to him, he was one of those characters that I warmed to almost instantly. 

It opened with a very strong prologue as Grace is on trial for murder, then it jumps back to ten months before. Grace’s daughter, Jo was murdered and I had a hard time reconciling this grieving mother with a supposed cold blooded killer. What had happened in the preceding months between her daughters death and her trial? Let’s just say that I couldn’t have predicted anything and was shocked several times along the way. 

Though this is firmly a police procedural, and a very well accomplished one I might add, it dips it’s toe into some other genres which was a pleasant surprise for me. You get a dash of courtroom drama giving it a legal thriller feeling and when Grace bumps into an old school friend, Faye and swiftly rekindles a friendship there was definitely a psychological thriller vibe. I admire the way Isaac was able to blend all these genres without things feeling overdone and convoluted, it was executed seamlessly.

Per usual I’ll not be discussing the plot in detail, but the ending was fantastic, one that had some gasp worthy moments right within the final pages, I LOVE that! I’ll definitely be following this series from here on out, Isaac has a new fan in me. 

Overall rating: 4.5/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy. 

4 thoughts on “Review: The Lies Within by Jane Isaac @JaneIsaacAuthor @Legend_Press 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s