Review: Murder Game by Caroline Mitchell @caroline_writes @bookouture


Goodreads|Amazon US|Amazon UK
Release date: October 31, 2017

Publisher: Bookouture 

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Blurb:

A serial killer is playing a terrifying game of life or death with his victims. After he captures them, a countdown begins. He marks the time by sending clues to the whereabouts of the women he has taken in three disturbing images: alive, tortured, dead. 


In a race against the clock, East London Detective Ruby Preston must play the twisted killer’s terrifying murder game and decipher the clues before more women die… 


But this isn’t the first time the police have seen such a sickening crime. The notorious Lonely Hearts Killer, Mason Gatley, was put behind bars ten years ago for murdering six women in exactly the same chilling way. Desperate for more information, Ruby persuades her boyfriend, Nathan Crosby, to use his criminal connections to set up a dangerous meeting. Because to catch this killer, she needs to think like one… 


But the closer Ruby grows to the dark and charming Mason Gatley, the more worried her team become. Is Mason really helping her catch the killer? Or is he lining Ruby up to be his next victim?


Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Peter James will be hooked by this dark and utterly disturbing thriller, packed with twists until the final page. 

I’m ecstatic to be one of the stops on the blog blitz for Murder Game today!


Review:

This is the third and final book in the Ruby Preston series, I absolutely loved both Death Note and Sleep Tight and I highly recommend this series. Mitchell has the unique ability to create wholly believable characters and well plotted scenarios that are guaranteed to keep you engaged and on the edge of your seat the entire time.

I love that this case follows a copycat killer and this forced Ruby to visit the original killer, Mason in prison to see if he could be of any help in the investigation. The scenes between these two were chilling and utterly creepy, very Silence of the Lambs and so well done. Mitchell crafts the best serial killers and as a reader with a sick fascination with them, she’s one of the best. 

Fast paced and relentless, this is totally a one sitting type of read. I won’t say much about the plot itself except it’s twisty and per usual I had no idea who the killer was, Mitchell always keeps me on my toes. If you like police procedurals and haven’t read this series you should, they have such an authenticity to them and they’re entertaining and exciting, what more could you want?! 

Overall rating: 5/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

About the Author:


USA Today Bestselling Thriller Author.


Originally from Ireland, Caroline lives with her family, parrot and two dogs in a pretty village on the coast of Essex. A former police detective, Caroline has worked in CID and specialised in roles dealing with vulnerable victims, high-risk victims of domestic abuse, and serious sexual offences. Published by Bookouture and Thomas & Mercer, she now writes full time and all her books have become number 1 best sellers in their categories.


Her fast-paced DC Jennifer Knight thrillers carry a hint of the supernatural and are weaved from Caroline’s personal experiences in the police and paranormal.


Set in Shoreditch, London, her DS Ruby Preston series is described as “terrifying, addictive serial killer thrillers”. 


 


Caroline also writes psychological thrillers, the most recent, Witness, has been described as “thrilling, tense, exciting, dark and twisted in the best possible way”.

Website|Twitter|Facebook

7 thoughts on “Review: Murder Game by Caroline Mitchell @caroline_writes @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s