Blog Tour: Little Broken Things by Nicole Baart

Goodreads|Amazon

Release date: November 21, 2017

Publisher: Atria

Genre: Contemporary Fiction

Blurb:

An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.

I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn’t think much of it. They haven’t seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora’s fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up at the lake near Quinn’s house just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever.

Nora’s “something” is more shocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little girl, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to keep her safe, and not to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect. But before Quinn can ask even one of the million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy.

While Quinn struggles to honor her sister’s desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she fears that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head—something that will threaten them all. But Quinn’s worries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It’s a matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and ultimately, about the lengths a woman will go to protect the ones she loves.

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Little Broken Things. If you want to follow along with the tour check out TLC Book Tours for the full schedule.

Review:

Have you seen the buzz surrounding this gem of a book? I sure have, especially on Instagram and I haven’t missed the comparisons to Liane Moriarty and as much as I usually hate when books are touted as the next (insert name of huge, best selling book) I can definitely see why the comparison is being used. Fans of books in Moriarty’s vein will adore this one, I can see it being picked as a book club read very easily!

This is told using various points of view, you have Liz mother to Nora and Quinn and all were extremely well rounded and well written. You know how you sometimes read a really great book and by the end you feel like you truly know the characters? That’s Little Broken Things in a nutshell. The depth of characterization is outstanding, this was a multifaceted story written in a heartbreakingly gorgeous manner.

As much as the beginning of the book hooked me, it had that steady quiet type of suspense that requires some patience. BUT, if you stick with it I really believe the payoff is worth it in the end. Don’t get me wrong, I was still very engrossed and I found it to be a compelling read, I just want to give a warning to those who may be expecting a super intense and fast paced read.

Overall rating: 4.5/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

About the Author:

Nicole Baart is the mother of five children from four different countries. The cofounder of a non-profit organization, One Body One Hope, she lives in a small town in Iowa. She is the author of seven previous novels, including, most recently, The Beautiful Daughters. Find out more at NicoleBaart.com.

Connect with Nicole

Website | Facebook | Twitter

11 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Little Broken Things by Nicole Baart

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s