Review: Crossing the Line by Kerry Wilkinson @bookouture

Goodreads|Amazon

Release date: December 12, 2017

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Blurb:

A serial killer with a past. A detective with a secret…

Twenty-five years ago, the Stretford Slasher murdered eight women and was locked behind bars for life. But after the notorious serial killer dies in prison, there is a new series of attacks bearing all the hallmarks of the originals. Victims are being targeted in broad daylight and people are scared to go out…

Recently promoted Detective Inspector Jessica Daniel is heading up the investigation. To unmask the culprit, Jessica must first unravel the truth behind decades of secrets. With so many leads, she enlists the help of Detective Superintendent Niall Hambleton – the man who arrested the Stretford Slasher.

Will Jessica be able to connect the crimes before someone else gets hurt? And how far will she go to solve the case?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza and Rachel Abbott will be hooked by this pacey, addictive crime thriller, guaranteed to keep you turning the pages until the unforgettable ending.

I have to start by wishing Kerry a happy US publication day!! I’m so pleased to be participating in the blog blast for this awesome series today.

Review:

I started this series at the beginning and then unfortunately I fell behind as the old TBR pile has grown to epic proportions. But when I heard that we’re almost caught up to the UK releases here in the good old US I knew I had to jump back in a try and catch back up with Jess. I’m so glad I did, I had the best time reuniting with her and her team and while I’ve definitely missed out on some things not having read a few books, I easily caught up and I really didn’t feel confused or lost, so you could most definitely jump in here if you would like and I think you would be fine.

I’ve really come to love Jess, her sense of humor greatly appeals to me, she’s sarcastic and blunt, but that’s a coping mechanism because underneath it all she’s actually pretty warm and caring. I find her to be really relatable, she works hard and she constantly bends the rules, she’s wonderfully human and I can always understand why she skirts the boundaries. Izzy was the newest team member in the last book I read and I was pleased to see that not only is she still around, but so is Dave! I swear the rapport between Jess and Dave always makes me laugh, it’s so natural and fun.

Wilkinson keeps things moving at a rapid pace and there’s various subplots so there are no moments of boredom. This is set in the spring but Manchester is experiencing unseasonal weather with below freezing temperatures and I loved how the weather played such a huge role in the investigation. If you enjoy police procedurals with a strong, kick ass female lead you have to try this series! This was the best book for me in the series (that I’ve read!) and I’m really excited to make time for the next book.

Overall rating: 4.5/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

About the Author:

Kerry Wilkinson has had No.1 bestsellers in the UK, Canada, South Africa and Singapore, as well as top-five books in Australia. He has also written two top-20 thrillers in the United States.

As well as his million-selling Jessica Daniel series, Kerry has written the Silver Blackthorn trilogy – a fantasy-adventure serial for young adults – a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter, plus numerous standalone novels. He has been published around the world in more than a dozen languages.

Originally from the county of Somerset, Kerry has spent far too long living in the north of England, picking up words like ‘barm’ and ‘ginnel’.

When he’s short of ideas, he rides his bike or bakes cakes. When he’s not, he writes it all down.

Upcoming US releases:
Behind Closed Doors (Jessica Daniel 7): Out now
Two Sisters (standalone): Out now
The Girl Who Came Back (standalone): Out now
Crossing The Line (Jessica Daniel 8): December 2017
Scarred For Life (Jessica Daniel 9): late-2017
One Cloudy Night (standalone): Spring 2018
The Death And Life Of Eleanor Parker (standalone): June 2018
For Richer, For Poorer (Jessica Daniel 10): 2018
Nothing But Trouble (Jessica Daniel 11): 2018

  Social Media Links:

http://kerrywilkinson.com or http://facebook.com/KerryWilkinsonBooks

6 thoughts on “Review: Crossing the Line by Kerry Wilkinson @bookouture

  1. amandalynn9204 says:

    I really liked Jessica!! I wish I would have started at the beginning of this series though, I think I would have gotten into the book a lot more! The ending makes me want to keep reading though to figure out what is going to happen!! Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s