Blog Tour: The Social Affair by Britney King @britneyking_

Title: The Social Affair
Author: Britney King
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Release Date: January 18, 2018 
In the tradition of Gone Girl and Behind Closed Doors comes a gripping, twisted, furiously clever read that demands your attention, and keeps you guessing until the very end. For fans of the anti-heroine and stories told in unorthodox ways, The Social Affair delivers us the perfect dark and provocative villain. The only question—who is it?
A timeless, perfect couple waltzes into the small coffee shop where Izzy Lewis works. Instantly enamored, she does what she always does in situations like these: she searches them out on social media. 
Just like that—with the tap of a screen— she’s given a front row seat to the Dunns’ picturesque life. This time, she’s certain she’s found what she’s been searching for. This time, she’ll go to whatever lengths it takes to ensure she gets it right—even if this means doing the unthinkable.
Intense and original, The Social Affair is a disturbing psychological thriller that explores what can happen when privacy is traded for convenience.

Review:

Well hello Britney King, where have you been all of my life?! I love nothing more than supporting an indie author and when I find one that writes exactly the type of books I like it’s like unearthing a buried treasure. Britney King is that type of author for me now, The Social Affair was an intoxicating read, I wasn’t sure what to expect exactly having never read the author before and what I received was unexpected in the best possible way.

I’m sure you guys are getting a little tired of seeing me say that I don’t want to discuss the plot of a book or to go in blind, I’m sorry in advance but my solid advice stands. Not knowing which direction a story will head from minute to minute is one of my favorite parts about reading and I promise you that if you like the description of this one, I bet you’ll like it even more than you think.

Here’s what I will say, this had a hip, edgy and current vibe that felt fresh and bold. It revolves around social media and the appeal and dangers it can hold and it was so relevant for me. If you’ve read The Marriage Pact and enjoyed it, grab this one because it was vaguely reminiscent but I liked this one more, it wasn’t as odd as that one but had the same great cult like vibes.

The Social Affair in three words: Slick, Disturbing and Shocking.

Overall rating: 4.5/5

Thanks to the author for my review copy.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Britney King lives in Austin, Texas with her husband, children, two dogs, one ridiculous cat, and a partridge in a pear tree.

When she’s not wrangling the things mentioned above, she writes psychological, domestic and romantic thrillers set in suburbia.

Currently, she’s writing three series and several standalone novels.

The Bedrock Series features an unlikely heroine who should have known better. Turns out, she didn’t. Thus she finds herself tangled in a messy, dangerous, forbidden love story and face-to-face with a madman hell-bent on revenge. The series has been compared to Fatal Attraction, Single White Female, and Basic Instinct.

The Water Series follows the shady love story of an unconventional married couple—he’s an assassin—she kills for fun. It has been compared to a crazier book version of Mr. and Mrs. Smith. Also, Dexter.

Around The Bend is a heart-pounding standalone, which traces the journey of a well-to-do suburban housewife, and her life as it unravels, thanks to the secrets she keeps. If she were the only one with things she wanted to keep hidden, then maybe it wouldn’t have turned out so bad. But she wasn’t.

The With You Series at its core is a deep love story about unlikely friends who travel the world; trying to find themselves, together and apart. Packed with drama and adventure along with a heavy dose of suspense, it has been compared to The Secret Life of Walter Mitty and Love, Rosie.

The Social Affair is an intense standalone about a timeless couple who find themselves with a secret admirer they hadn’t bargained for. For fans of the anti-heroine and stories told in unorthodox ways, the novel explores what can happen when privacy is traded for convenience. It is reminiscent of films such as One Hour Photo and Play Misty For Me. 

Without a doubt, connecting with readers is the best part of this gig. You can find Britney online here: 

To get more– grab two books for free, by subscribing to her mailing list at britneyking.com or just copy and paste bit.ly/britneykingweb into your browser. 
Happy reading.


HOSTED BY:

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Social Affair by Britney King @britneyking_

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s