Blog Tour: Sisters Like Us by Susan Mallery

Goodreads|Amazon

Release date: January 23, 2018

Publisher: MIRA

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Blurb:

The grass is always greener on your sister’s side of the fence…

Divorce left Harper Szymanski with a name no one can spell, a house she can’t afford and a teenage daughter who’s pulling away. With her fledgling virtual-assistant business, she’s scrambling to maintain her overbearing mother’s ridiculous Susie Homemaker standards and still pay the bills, thanks to clients like Lucas, the annoying playboy cop who claims he hangs around for Harper’s fresh-baked cookies.

Spending half her life in school hasn’t prepared Dr. Stacey Bloom for her most daunting challenge—motherhood. She didn’t inherit the nurturing gene like Harper and is in deep denial that a baby is coming. Worse, her mother will be horrified to learn that Stacey’s husband plans to be a stay-at-home dad…assuming Stacey can first find the courage to tell Mom she’s already six months pregnant.

Separately they may be a mess, but together Harper and Stacey can survive anything—their indomitable mother, overwhelming maternity stores and ex’s weddings. Sisters Like Us is a delightful look at sisters, mothers and daughters in today’s fast-paced world, told with Susan Mallery’s trademark warmth and humor.

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Sisters Like Us! Check out TLC Book Tours for the full schedule.

Review:

Being the rebel that I am I jumped into this series at book four. It looks like each book focuses on a new set of characters with cameos from past favorites which made it extremely easy to follow. Sisters Like Us is about, well, sisters Harper and Stacey as well as their mother Bunny and Harper’s daughter Becca. I never get tired of reading about sister and mother/daughter relationships and Mallery brought these women to life in a realistic and appealing way.

I really enjoyed the majority of the characters with the exception of Bunny, I couldn’t stand her. Harper was my favorite probably because our lives are the most similar. Stacey was quirky, a bit of an oddball but her mannerisms and outlook on life were endearing and made for great reading. Mallery’s books always provide me with a much needed escape and every time I glanced at the cover I thought about how pretty it was. There was a little romance that added some spice but it’s main focus was on the dynamics of the family and Mallery writes with an effortless ease that keeps you turning pages. A lovely story with gentle life lessons and tons of heart, recommended for fans of Kristan Higgins and Kristy Woodsen Harvey.

Sisters Like Us in three words: Lighthearted, humorous and sweet.

Overall rating: 4/5

Thanks to TLC Book Tours and the publisher for my review copy.

About the Author:

Susan Mallery is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of books about the relationships that define women’s lives—romance, friendship, family. With compassion and humor, Susan keenly observes how people think and feel, in stories that take readers on an emotional journey. Sometimes heartbreaking, often funny, and always uplifting, Susan’s books have spent more than 200 weeks on the USA Today bestsellers list, thanks to her ever growing legions of fans.

Critics, too, have heaped praise on “the new queen of romantic fiction.” (Walmart) Booklist says, “Romance novels don’t get much better than Mallery’s expert blend of emotional nuance, humor, and superb storytelling,” and RT Book Reviews puts her “in a class by herself!”

Although Susan majored in Accounting, she never worked as an accountant because she was published straight out of college with two books the same month, January of 1992. Sixteen prolific years and seventy-four books later, she hit the New York Times bestsellers list for the first time with Accidentally Yours in 2008. She made many appearances in the Top 10 before (finally) hitting #1 in 2015 with Thrill Me, the twentieth book in her most popular series, the Fool’s Gold romances, and the fourth of five books released that year.

Susan lives in Seattle with her husband, two ragdoll cats, and a tattletale toy poodle. Her heart for animals has led Susan to become an active supporter of the Seattle Humane Society. Animals play a big role in her books, as well, as she believes they’re an integral component to a happy life.

Connect with Susan

Website | Facebook | Twitter

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Sisters Like Us by Susan Mallery

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s