Review: The Swap by Robyn Harding

Goodreads|Amazon

Release date: June 23, 2020

Publisher: Gallery

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Blurb:

Low Morrison is not your average teen. You could blame her hippie parents or her looming height or her dreary, isolated hometown on an island in the Pacific Northwest. But whatever the reason, Low just doesn’t fit in—and neither does Freya, an ethereal beauty and once-famous social media influencer who now owns the local pottery studio.

After signing up for a class, Low quickly falls under Freya’s spell. And Freya, buoyed by Low’s adoration, is compelled to share her darkest secrets and deepest desires. Finally, both feel a sense of belonging…that is, until Jamie walks through the studio door. Desperate for a baby, she and her husband have moved to the island hoping that the healthy environment will result in a pregnancy. Freya and Jamie become fast friends, as do their husbands, leaving Low alone once again.

Then one night, after a boozy dinner party, Freya suggests swapping partners. It should have been a harmless fling between consenting adults, one night of debauchery that they would put behind them, but instead, it upends their lives. And provides Low the perfect opportunity to unleash her growing resentment.

Robyn Harding brings her acclaimed storytelling, lauded as “fast-paced, thrilling, gut-wrenching” by Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six, to this dark and suspenseful thriller for fans of Megan Miranda and Lisa Jewell.

Review:

Mark my words, this will be the juiciest read of the summer! It has people behaving badly, sex, lies, betrayal and deceit, doesn’t that just sound like the perfect summer read?! I was lucky enough to read this poolside a few weeks ago and I hope by the time this is out this summer you all will able to enjoy it the same way that I did because you almost have to read this by the water, it’s a must haha.

This is full of the type of characters that I love to hate, people making questionable decisions is something that always fascinates me and there’s plenty of that here. Multiple viewpoints, a scandalous plot and great writing made this one hell of an addictive read. There were definitely lots of surprises that shocked me and and was just overall a really entertaining read.

Overall rating: 5/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s