Review: Missing Daughter by Kiersten Modglin

Goodreads

Release date: November 8, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Synopsis: When I wake up with the sun in my eyes the morning after my daughter’s birthday party, I know something is very wrong. I go straight to her room but feel a surge of panic when I see an empty bed. Downstairs everything is totally quiet, and the front door is locked. Why didn’t I hear her scream? Who took our little girl?

My husband says I’ve been struggling since Skylar was born and that sometimes I forget things. But I remember every moment of my daughter’s party—including him locking the door after our family and friends left. Yes, we both had a drink and I slept heavily but I know I would have heard my child cry. A good mother always does.

My therapist says I need to stand up for myself. She wants me to confront my husband about the woman I heard him talking to the other night when he thought I was asleep. And about the child’s toy that I found that does not belong to Skylar. Is he hiding something?

But as the hours race by I soon realize I was totally wrong about everything that happened that night. I thought I’d put my past behind me long ago but I was wrong. All I know is this: I’ll do whatever it takes to save my child.

Will you believe me?

A heart-pounding, unbelievably twisty psychological thriller that will have you sleeping with the light on! Fans of Gone Girl, Behind Closed Doors and The Stepdaughter will be utterly gripped.

Review:

Yet another page turner from the queen of twisty thrillers, I swear I can always count on KMod when I’m in the mood for an unputdownable thriller and this was no exception. Missing children stories are nothing new but the author puts her own twisted spin on things here and I am into it! When a child disappears the police always look at the parents, much like when a married person vanishes the spouse is always the first suspect and the added tension this added to Ginny and Cameron’s already contentious relationship was so great. I had the who figured out fairly easily but I wasn’t too bothered because the why was so well done, it was emotionally charged and complicated and ultimately satisfying. She’s a go to author for me like I said earlier and this didn’t disappoint!

Overall rating: 4/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s