Review: The Killing Game by J. S. Carol 


Goodreads|Amazon|Author Website
Release date: October 13, 2016

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Goodreads blurb: 

Imagine you are having lunch at an exclusive restaurant, filled with Hollywood’s hottest stars.


And a masked gunman walks in and takes everyone hostage.


You must bargain for your life against a twisted individual who knows everything about you.


He also has a bomb set to detonate if his heart rate changes.


If he dies. You die.


You have four hours to stay alive.


What would you do?


A heart-stopping thriller with plenty of twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat, for fans of Peter Swanson, Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay.

Review:

Let’s start by talking about that cover and blurb. The cover is striking and immediately caught my eye, then when I read the blurb I was instantly fascinated. Hostage situations are always good for high intensity and drama. This was another book that I just had a feeling about, I knew that I would love it based on the blurb/cover combo alone and was I ever right!

Everyone that was eating lunch at LA hotspot Alfie’s is suddenly taken hostage by a crazed, masked madman. The suspense and intrigue start immediately with no hesitation from Carol. Thus begins a nonstop, action packed, thrilling ride that left me breathless. I swear I couldn’t keep up with all the crazy thoughts swirling around my head while reading this and I mean that in the best way possible. It just never lets up, the reader is constantly being assaulted by insane plot twists and shocking turns of events. This is a read in one sitting type of book and I would’ve done just that if I was able to. Since I was unable to do that, I was thinking about how it would all play out constantly.

I’m skeptical about revealing too much about the plot, but I will say that I loved the glimpse into both the lives of Hollywood’s elite and the journalists that are covering the situation. Carol showed the seedy and dark side of both worlds and you just know that it’s sadly an accurate portrayal of how this stuff really plays out.

Relentless action, nail biting moments, and a cast of characters that are flawed, self serving, egotistical and real are what The Killing Game is made of. I wholeheartedly recommend this one for anyone that enjoys thrillers or even action movies as it reminded me quite a bit of a blockbuster movie. Just be prepared for a chilling, exciting and entertaining ride that you won’t want to end.

Overall rating: 5/5

Thanks to Bookouture for my copy in exchange for an honest review.

23 thoughts on “Review: The Killing Game by J. S. Carol 

  1. Annie says:

    Ohh awesome! I didn’t request this because of the bomb thing, it sounded too “thriller” and less “mystery”, but your review makes me want to read it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s