Review: Blink by K. L. Slater @KimLSlater @bookouture


Goodreads|Amazon|Author Website
Release date: February 16, 2017

Publisher: Bookouture 

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Blurb: 

What if the person you love most in the world was in terrible danger … because of you?


Three years ago, Toni’s five-year-old daughter Evie disappeared after leaving school. The police have never been able to find her. There were no witnesses, no CCTV, no trace. 


But Toni believes her daughter is alive. And as she begins to silently piece together her memories, the full story of the past begins to reveal itself, and a devastating truth.


Toni’s mind is trapped in a world of silence, her only chance to save herself is to manage the impossible. She must find a way to make herself heard. She must find her daughter. 


A compelling, gripping thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors and The Sister.


Review: 

I’m starting to think Slater’s books need to come with a warning label: Do not start reading this unless you’re prepared to sacrifice sleep and be so consumed that nothing will take your attention from it until you’ve turned the last page. I read this on Valentine’s Day and my poor husband fell asleep while waiting for me to finish reading 😂 whoops! 

I loved Slater’s debut, Safe With Me and I can safely say that I loved Blink even more! I also did a buddy read for the first time with Annie at The Misstery and Danielle at The Blonde Likes Books and it was SO fun. Even though we all finished at different times it was really great to be able to discuss theories and opinions with these two fabulous ladies, can’t wait to do this again! 

This is told partly in flashbacks from three years ago and partly in the present day and from multiple points of view, and this structure is flawlessly executed by the author. There’s a woman in a coma in the present day portions and she’s suffered a stroke and is now a victim of locked in syndrome where her body is physically unable to move, yet her mind works just fine. She can hear the doctors talking about the possibility of ending her life, yet she can’t let them know that she’s still very much aware. Can you even imagine?! Shudders. Toni is a single mom to Evie and narrates the flashbacks. Her husband Andrew died and she’s just trying to survive, even though she’s having a really hard time. There are several other perspectives but you’ll have to read those for yourself, you guys know I don’t do spoilers. 

This is relentlessly paced, there was no way that I was able to put this down until I figured out exactly what was really going on. Having read so many thrillers I was distrustful and suspicious of everyone, but every single character was so very twisted and untrustworthy that it was impossible to decipher who was really up to no good here. I was mislead so many times my head was spinning and by the time the big twist was revealed I was gobsmacked, what a truly killer turn things took. This was a cleverly crafted psychological thriller and I cannot wait to see what Slater comes up with next! She just signed a new four book deal with Bookouture and I couldn’t be more excited for her. 

Overall rating: 5/5

Thanks to Bookouture for my review copy. 

20 thoughts on “Review: Blink by K. L. Slater @KimLSlater @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s