Review: Her Perfect Life by Sam Hepburn 


Goodreads|Amazon|Author Website
Release date: February 23, 2017

Publisher: Harper Collins 

Genre: Psychological Thriller 

Blurb: 

A brilliantly twisty psychological thriller for fans of I Let You Go and Behind Closed Doors.


How far would you go to create the perfect life?


Gracie Dwyer has it all: the handsome husband, the adorable child, the beautiful home and the glittering career. The perfect life.


Her new friend Juliet doesn’t exactly fit in. She’s a down-on-her-luck single parent with no money and not much hope.


So just what is it that draws Gracie and Juliet together? And when the cracks start to appear in Gracie’s perfect life, can both of them survive?

Review: 

Her Perfect Life had many of the ingredients I look for in a good, solid psychological thriller but there was something missing for me, maybe some tension, or that feeling of confusion and disbelief was lacking, I’m not exactly sure. Sometimes I think it’s just really difficult for authors to capture that special something that makes a psychological thriller a real star. 

Let’s start with what worked for me. I liked the alternating point of views used, we hear from both Gracie and Juliet as they start an awkward friendship. There are also random diary entries from a young woman named Pauline and I enjoyed trying to figure out who she was and how she fit into the story. The big twist in the end was decent but not totally shocking and that’s always a disappointment. 

Several things bothered me about this one, but one of my biggest issues was that there were far too many loose ends left hanging and things that just didn’t fully make sense. There was something missing in the writing style as well, there was no easy flow, no sense of being addicted to the read that kept me flipping the pages at a fast pace. Speaking of pacing, things just felt disjointed, at times things moved very fast and at others it felt super slow moving, I would’ve liked the author to pick one or the other. 

Overall it was an ok read, nothing special and I think as soon as I finish writing this review I’ll forget most of the characters names. I’m not upset that I powered through and finished so I suppose I’m satisfied on some level, but I was definitely left wanting more. 

Overall rating: 2.5/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy. 

16 thoughts on “Review: Her Perfect Life by Sam Hepburn 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s