Review: Now You See Me by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @bookouture

Release date: November 27, 2017

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Blurb:

As she saw his face for the first time, she knew he was going to kill her. She just didn’t know when.

When the dismembered body of Lydia Steiner is found washed up in the waters of a blisteringly hot Louisiana swamp, Detective Jess Bishop knows for certain this isn’t the murderer’s first kill.

Three other dismembered bodies have been found, all bearing the same marks. Marks that strike fear into Jess’s heart. They are identical to those from a case she’s spent her entire career trying to forget.

As Jess and her team try to link the victims, another body is discovered and they fear the serial killer is taunting them. They know it’s only a matter of time before he kills again.

As the body count rises, and the hunt goes cold, Jess knows she has to confront her past in order to catch the killer, even if that means making herself the bait…

Now You See Me is a gripping and heart-stopping thriller full of twists and perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter, Robert Bryndza and Lisa Gardner.

I’m so excited to be one of the stops on the blog blitz for Now You See Me today!

Review:

We’ve all established that I have a morbid fascination with serial killer thrillers by now, right? I’m always on the hunt for a new book, or even better a series to follow featuring a kick ass detective or FBI agent and I’m SO excited that Now You See Me is the start of a new series following Jess Bishop, an agent with flaws galore and the kind of backstory that can take several books to unravel.

Jess is not the most likable woman, but as much as she tried to be that way, I liked her anyways. She’s completely closed off, she keeps her inner circle super tight and she comes across as cold and unfeeling, but she’s actually anything but. She takes her job and the responsibility that comes along with it very seriously and is so hyper focused when she’s working a case trying to talk to her is like speaking to a brick wall. Her current partner is Chan and they work alright together but her old partner, Jamison is truly her right hand man. The chemistry between Jess and Jamison was great, there’s so much underlying tension based on several old happenings and there is so much to explore with these two.

Scott has a graphic writing style, she’s not afraid to write extremely detailed descriptions of the victims of the sadistic killer and the crime scenes. The guy Jess and team are tracking is clever and is clearly loving taunting law enforcement making for an interesting read, edge of your seat read. This was one hell of a roller coaster ride with a ton of red herrings, I swear I changed my mind every few pages and had no idea who to trust! This was exciting, intense with plenty of heart pounding moments and an ending that while resolved left plenty open for the next book, I can’t wait!!

Overall rating: 4/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

About the Author:

Originally from California, Kierney Scott lives in Edinburgh, Scotland with her husband and their daughter.

In her spare time she likes to read and invent new recipes. Her stuffed peppers are particularly popular with her family, as are her grain-free chocolate chip cookies. In an effort to convert her family to the joys of pumpkin, she created the Great Pumpkin Challenge. For the ten weeks before Thanksgiving, they tried a new pumpkin recipe every week. Pumpkin arancini and pumpkin queso were a big hit. She has promised her daughter to never again roast pumpkin and call them chips.

She loves hearing from readers. If you would like to get in touch, you can email her at KierneyScott@gmail.com or follow her on twitter @Kierney_S

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kierney.scott

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kierneyscott/

Twitter:     https://twitter.com/Kierney_S

Goodreads|Amazon US|Amazon UK

9 thoughts on “Review: Now You See Me by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s