Review: The Family Next Door by Sally Hepworth


Release date: March 6, 2018

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Genre: Contemporary Fiction


The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It’s the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn’t fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon catches the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers.

But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange’s compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won’t let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park – and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread – and they’ll soon find out that when you look at something too closely, you see things you never wanted to see.


The Family Next Door is garnering comparisons to Big Little Lies and normally when a publisher compares a new book to an older blockbuster I’m annoyed when it doesn’t live up to the comparison. Well, this time the similarities are well founded, this most definitely will appeal to fans of BLL and I predict it will be a smash hit.

This follows five woman who live in the same neighborhood, Essie, Fran, Ange, Barbara and Isabelle so if multiple perspectives are your thing, you’ll be happy with the structure. This was such a fast, effortless read, I tore through it because it was so easy to get caught up in the women’s lives. Plus, they all had juicy secrets and I couldn’t wait to find out what they were hiding.

This was one of those books where I thought I had everything figured out and knew exactly what would happen next but Hepworth had plenty of tricks up her sleeve and I didn’t accurately predict anything, I love that! This is perfect for fans of lighter style suspense, no blood, guts and gore just good old fashioned secrets and betrayals.

The Family Next Door in three words: Dramatic, Evasive and Entertaining.

Overall rating: 5/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

10 thoughts on “Review: The Family Next Door by Sally Hepworth

  1. Norrie says:

    Recently i have this thing that i just want to read books set in small towns and suburbs about families and secrets and stuff. Not sure what’s gotten into me. This looks like a great candidate 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s