Review: The Perfect Liar by Thomas Christopher Greene

Goodreads|Amazon

Release date: January 15, 2019

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Blurb:

A seemingly perfect marriage is threatened by the deadly secrets husband and wife keep from each other, for fans of B.A. Paris and Paula Hawkins.

Susannah, a young widow and single mother, has remarried well: to Max, a charismatic artist and popular speaker whose career took her and her fifteen-year-old son out of New York City and to a quiet Vermont university town. Strong-willed and attractive, Susannah expects that her life is perfectly in place again. Then one quiet morning she finds a note on her door: I KNOW WHO YOU ARE. 

Max dismisses the note as a prank. But days after a neighborhood couple comes to dinner, the husband mysteriously dies in a tragic accident while on a run with Max. Soon thereafter, a second note appears on their door: DID YOU GET AWAY WITH IT?

Both Susannah and Max are keeping secrets from the world and from each other —secrets that could destroy their family and everything they have built. The Perfect Liar is a thrilling novel told through the alternating perspectives of Susannah and Max with a shocking climax that no one will expect, from the bestselling author of The Headmaster’s Wife. 

Review:

I can’t even begin to count how many books I’ve read with the word liar in the title this year, it’s definitely a hot trend but despite its overuse I still don’t hesitate in picking them up. While the title may be not be highly original the contents were, this one kept me on my toes and the author has a well polished style that’s sophisticated but not snobby.

This was a read that totally snuck up on me, it was kinda strange because I was definitely interested right from the beginning but I wasn’t completely hooked until like sixty percent. I can’t really pinpoint why it took me that long to be well and truly sucked in, but when I hit that point there was a big shift for me and that’s the moment it became really unputdownable for me. Just wanted to start with that because if you choose to pick it up and aren’t impressed initially stick with it because the pay off was well worth it in my opinion.

The best part of this one was that you know right away that Susannah and Max are both liars, so neither are reliable. I didn’t trust either of them obviously, but I had so much fun trying to figure out who was lying about what and when they were being truthful. It was definitely a head game and one that was well executed with a strong ending, and for a reader that highly valued an ending, this one worked incredibly well for me.

The Perfect Liar in three words: Sophisticated, Deceptive and Unpredictable.

Overall rating: 4/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

8 thoughts on “Review: The Perfect Liar by Thomas Christopher Greene

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s