Review: Lies Between Us by Ronnie Turner

Goodreads|Amazon

Release date: October 1, 2018

Publisher: HQ Digital

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Blurb:

The past is always watching . . .

Three people, leading very different lives, are about to be brought together – with devastating consequences . . .

John has a perfect life, until the day his daughter goes missing.

Maisie cares for her patients, but hides her own traumatic past.

Miller should be an innocent child, but is obsessed with something he can’t have.

They all have something in common, though none of them know it – and the truth won’t stay hidden for long . . .

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Shari Lapena and Lisa Jewell. 

I’m so pleased to be one of the stops on the blog tour for Lies Between Us today!

Review:

What a dark and deceptive debut this was, I’m so impressed this is Turner’s first novel and I have to admit that she tricked me several times over! I like to think I’m a rather astute reader and can usually begin to guess (at least partially) correctly at the big twists but I can honestly say that I did not see this one coming ahead of time, so well done.

This is the sort of book where you have to pay close attention to while reading, it requires close focus. It’s told from three perspectives, Miller, John and Maisie and also via alternating timelines. I honestly had no idea how their stories would merge especially as they were all in different years, but I was very invested in each of their lives for different reasons. John was extremely likable and my heart broke for him as his daughter was missing and he was taunted by her kidnapper. Maisie was also relatable, but I struggled to see how her life would intersect with the others. Finally Miller was not the kind of character one can relate to (hopefully!) but I was still fascinated by him. While all three were very different they had one thing in common and that was that they were all incredibly well developed.

I don’t want to discuss the plot any further as I would be verging on spoiler territory, but I just want to end by saying again that this is such a strong debut. The writing was assured and fluid and had I not already known it was a debut I would’ve never guessed. I think fans of this genre will be pleased with this one, but remember to pay attention and don’t be surprised if you have to reread things towards the end because I absolutely had to!

Lies Between Us in three words: Deft, Complex and Tricky.

Overall rating: 4/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

One thought on “Review: Lies Between Us by Ronnie Turner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s