Review: Little Girl Lost by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture


Goodreads|Amazon|Author Website
Release date: January 19, 2017

Publisher: Bookouture 

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Blurb: 

A perfect family hiding disturbing secrets. A killer who wants the truth to be told. 


A teacher goes missing under suspicious circumstances. 

A millionaire is murdered at a local reservoir. 

For Detective Robyn Carter, there’s no obvious link between the men. But as she starts to delve into the cases, her investigations lead her to Abigail, perfect wife and mother to beautiful little Izzy. What was Abigail’s connection to the victims? And why is she receiving threatening messages from an anonymous number? 


But as Robyn starts to inch closer to finding the killer, Izzy is abducted. 


Unless Robyn gets to the twisted individual in time, a little girl will die … 


Gripping, fast paced and nailbitingly tense, this serial killer thriller will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of MJ Arlidge and Angela Marsons. Discover Carol Wyer’s new series today – at a special launch price. 

Review: 

I’ve read Wyer’s romantic comedies in the past and really enjoyed them so when I heard she was delving into the world of thrillers I was totally interested. Would the same author who wrote such heartwarming and fun books deliver a chilling and compelling thriller? Yes, yes she would. I was blown away by Little Girl Lost and am now in complete awe of the talented Carol Wyer. 

Robyn Carter used to be a detective and now works as a PI with her cousin, Ross. She’s suffered some devastating losses so she takes a break from being a police officer to heal. Right as she’s preparing to head back to work, she starts investigating the disappearance of a teacher, Lucas Matthews. When she really starts to dig into the case, things begin to get seriously complicated and twisted. Bodies are cropping up everywhere and seemingly unrelated people are connected, but how? 

I’m not going to lie, during the beginning quarter of this book I was slightly confused. It wasn’t the writing style or that weird plotting was going on, it was that there were so many viewpoints to keep track of. There was Abigail, a new mother to baby Izzy, Detective Carter as she tried to unravel an intricate web of details, and then there are chapters labeled Then from a girl with a tragically sad life. I was making myself crazy trying to figure out how all of this would tie together and then eventually things clicked into place and I was floored. I’m still amazed by how meticulously this was plotted, there were so many details to keep track of and Wyer tied it all together beautifully. 

Most of the time it seems like there is one massive twist in a mystery novel but here there were several turns that were all shockers. Between the gripping plot line and the seamless writing, you’re introduced to Carter who was such a great character, I’m thrilled that this is the start of a new series based on her. She’s had a difficult past and has walked away damaged, but she’s a good cop and she has a killer instinct and doesn’t always follow the rules. She’s not afraid to take a risk and I admire her strength and perseverance. What a talented thriller writer Wyer is, if this is what she has to offer first, I can’t wait to see what she has in store next!

Overall rating: 5/5

Thanks to Bookouture for my review copy. 

9 thoughts on “Review: Little Girl Lost by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture

  1. Annie says:

    I wasn’t going to request anything more from Netgalley but I saw this a while ago and everyone loved it so I couldn’t resist.. will read it next month 😀 You’ve made me excited!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s