Blog Tour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture

Goodreads|Amazon US|Amazon UK

Release date: December

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Blurb:

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie, and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this…

Years later, a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint.

Then a nurse is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her friend’s statement makes Robyn wonder: are the two bodies connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realises she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost?

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.

I’m absolutely thrilled to be one of the stops on the blog tour for The Silent Children today!!

Review:

If you’re a new follower you may not know that this series is one of my absolute favorites, I’ve read and loved them all. I highly recommend starting at the first book and catching up as soon as possible because they’re SO good and you really need to read Robyn’s backstory to appreciate how excellent they are. The order is Little Girl Lost, Secrets of the Dead, The Missing Girls then this one, so get cracking and add them to your Christmas list!

Wyer is a clever lady and I love her formula of inserting chapters pertaining to the case via flashbacks that she uses in each book. This time, an unknown boy is telling the story of his terribly sad life full of horror and abuse. The addition of these snippets in between chapters from Robyn and team gave this such a dark, harrowing and gritty feel that worked so well for me. Per usual there are several plot threads to keep track of and again, as always this has a highly complex storyline that I never could quite figure out, Robyn sure is a better detective than me 😜

Wyer is beginning to be the queen of curveballs and this was no exception, especially as it relates to Robyn’s personal life. I’m being purposefully vague in case you haven’t read the previous book but she’s torturing us readers by giving us a tiny piece of the puzzle and then moving on. I LOVE IT! Keeps me on my toes and makes me all the more eager for the next book. Fans of police procedurals/thrillers that haven’t read this are truly missing out, they’re fast paced, exciting, shocking and fantastically well written.

Overall rating: 4.5/5

Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.

About the Author: < strong><<<<
l E. Wyer is an award-winning author whose humorous books take a light-hearted look at getting older and encourage others to age disgracefully. More recently she has chosen to write for the "dark side" and embarked on a series of thrillers, starting with the gripping best-seller, Little Girl Lost.

Her book Grumpy Old Menopause won The People's Book Prize Award for non-fiction 2015.

Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing 'Irritable Male Syndrome' and 'Ageing Disgracefully' and on BBC Breakfast television. She has had articles published in national magazines 'Woman's Weekly' featured in 'Take A Break', 'Choice', 'Yours' and 'Woman's Own' magazines and writes regularly for The Huffington Post.

Carol is a signed author with Bookouture and Delancey Press.

To learn more about Carol, go to www.carolwyer.co.uk or follow Carol on Twitter: @carolewyer.

Carol blogs at www.facing50withhumour.com and www.grumpyoldmenopause.com

8 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s